Active Teachers
2017 | IMPAC4 La Serena-Coquimbo

Eighteen researchers and teachers from different parts of the country were invited to participate in the Fourth International Marine Protected Areas Congress, in La Serena, Coquimbo, Chile from September 4 - 8, 2017.

Researchers, teachers, and experts in environmental education from different regions of Chile had the opportunity to participate in IMPAC4, invited by Fundación Mar Adentro. In addition to participating in various presentations and peer-exchange activities, invitees participated in a workshop designed by Fundación Mar Adentro and members of the Center for Advanced Studies in Arid Zones (CEAZA) in La Serena – invited to the Congress by FMA – to study the local ecosystems in the Wetlands of El Culebrón.

Guests were able to participate in a Congress that was impactful not only for its scientific content, but for the diversity of its participants: Participants hailed from over 80 countries, and thus brought to the table an immense variety of experiences, cultures, and of course, ideas. The Congress generates cutting-edge research ideas, proposes new ideas for the incorporation of arts in conservation, and fosters the sharing of knowledge.

We thank each of them for their participation:

– Pedro Vergara, University of Los Lagos, Osorno
– Mario Manzano, Universidad Austral de Chile, Valdivia
– Celeste Kroeger, Explora Conicyt, Viña del Mar
– Eduardo Hernández, University of Concepción, Concepción
– Javier Ancapán, Mapu Lahual Indigenous Association, Osorno
– Valeska San Martín, University of Concepción, Concepción
– Andrea Martínez, National Museum of Natural History, Santiago
– Naysa Balcasar, Center for Oceanographic Research in the South East Pacific, UDEC, Viña del Mar
– Berta Molina, Southern Coast School, Puerto Aysén
– Carolina Yáñez, Chinchimén, Valparaíso
– Catherine Chirgwin, Así Conserva Chile – Palma Chilena, Santiago
– Daniela Campos, National Council of Culture and Arts, Valparaíso
– Alessandra Coronello, Marine Biologist, Santiago
– José Sepúlveda, Colegio Eusebio Lillo, Coquimbo
– Claudia Hernández, Center for Advanced Studies in Arid Zones, La Serena
– Paloma Núñez, Center for Advanced Studies in Arid Zones, La Serena
– Carlos Olavarría, Center for Advanced Studies in Arid Zones, La Serena
– José Cortez, Center for Advanced Studies in Arid Zones, La Serena

Noticias Relacionadas