“From sky to the water and what’s in the center”; a retrospective of the Chilean participation at the ArsElectronica festival is presented at the MAC”

Polygonal Forest Path X: The Exhibition Room, a video art cycle that portrays the vision of five artists in the temperate forest, will be one of the 15 projects that make up the collective exhibition.

After five years of Chilean participation in the Ars Electrónica festival, the Museum of Contemporary Art of the University of Chile (MAC), in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage, presents the exhibition “From sky to the water and what’s in the center”, curated by Joselyne Contreras and Valentina Montero, aiming to carry out a retrospective on the participation of Chilean artists in ArsElectronica between 2018 and 2022.

The inauguration will take place on December 6 at 7:00 p.m on the Museum of Contemporary Art of the University of Chile (MAC), at the Parque Forestal headquarters (Ismael Valdés Vergara 506) and will be available from December 7 to January 21, 2023.

The collective exhibition will feature the participation of 15 artistic projects, including individual artists, collective and curatorial projects, who through installations of various formats– performances, videos, among others– address the notion of ecosystems, and the relationship between biological and technological organisms.

This is how, in each room, emphasis will be given to different aspects, such as our relationship with the notion of nature or the critical use of the media to build collective memory, which is linked to political and social events.

Polygonal Forest Path X:The Exhibition Room

Our Polygonal Forest, a virtual experience created for the 2021 Ars Electronica Festival, which invites you to explore the forest in its multiple sound, visual, biological, historical, cultural and conceptual dimensions, was invited to be part of the group show.

In room 12 on the second floor of the MAC Forestal we present what was Path X:The Exhibition Room, a video art cycle that portrays the vision of five artists on a journey that begins with the stars, goes down through the middle layer of a forest , penetrates the interior of the bark of trees, travels through their roots towards bodies of water, to then end with a speculative exercise on the figurative representation of our emotions about nature.

Presented by Fundación Mar Adentro under the curatorship of Maya Errazúriz and the coordination of Juan Pablo Vergara, this project is a cooperation between the Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs | Government of Chile and Ars Electronica. Participating artists are: Claudia Müller, Elisa Balmaceda, Etienne de France, Gregorio Fontén and Marcos Sánchez. Also collaborating in the exhibition: Sebastián Rodríguez B. (original web design), Diego Alarcón (web programming), Trimex (audiovisual projection adaptation), Bernardita Pérez (exhibition coordination).

About the works:

Elisa Balmaceda, 2021
Video, 6.11”

Through a visual, contemplative and poetic language, this experimental video – which combines camera trap images, recordings of the umbra of a solar eclipse, and 3D modeling of meteorological data – intertwines the ancestral and the technological to interconnect visions between ground-sky, sleep-wake, and visible-invisible.

Acknowledgments: Maya Errázuriz, Madeline Hurtado, Nicolás Aracena, Carlos Mendoza, Juan Ñanculef, Conservación Cerro Guido, Nicolás Lagos, Pamela Canoles, Emilia Martin, Rodrigo R. Zunino, Pablo Stejanovic, Fundación Mar Adentro

Etienne de France , 2019
Double channel video, color and sound 5.1., 13.31”

Guided by the notion of mimesis, the artist builds an analogy between forest and cinema to investigate forms of expression and interaction with these natural spaces that can go beyond the multiple languages ​​that define these ecosystems today. The multidirectional framings and their different nuances are presented together with the voice of the Mapuche poet Leonel Lienlaf reciting “Ka wün” (Transformation), to present innumerable signs and narratives.

Credits: Pedro Olivari (co-cinematographer), Amaury Arboun (sound director), Rémi Nonne (color correction), Leonel Lienlaf (voice), Germán Mellado (video editing), Fundación Mar Adentro

Gregorio Fontén, 2020
Video, 6.11”

Obtained by a LiDAR scanner, which uses light and reflection to recreate a 3D image, the data and coordinates of an araucaria tree are used for the algorithmic development of melodies, harmonies and rhythms. Through a score generated in Max / MSP for piano, the classical interpreter humanizes the data of the araucaria, creating a cycle that begins with the life of this tree and continues through an extraction of scientific data, which is later materialized through the sounds emitted by the piano.

Credits: Danor Quinteros (piano player), Carlos Mendoza (scientific analysis), GEOCOM (monkey puzzle image processing), Fundación Mar Adentro, Patricia Ready Gallery


Claudia Müller, 2021
Video, 11.39”

A visual story composed of three moments that cross the dividing line between the underwater world and the terrestrial world to address the relationship between water and the Universe. The video begins with the arrival of water on Earth through comets, which then takes on multiple aquatic manifestations as it moves across the land. Playing with the visual friction of light on the water, the figure of the rainbow emerges as a portal of access to the Universe, and the underworld, as conceived by the Andean worldview.

Credits: Claudia Müller (camera and direction), Sebastián Rodríguez (3D animation), Tiziana Panizza (text and voice), Andrés Polonsky (sound design), Sofía Nercasseau (video editing), Fundación Mar Adentro

Marcos Sánchez, 2021
Animation on original and found videos, 4.22”

Nature is largely an unknown world onto which we tend to project our own concerns based on what we observe in it. Many times we recognize in its shape, movement and behavior certain elements that we can relate to our ideals, fears or doubts. In this video-animation documentary, scientific and utilitarian video material is brought together under this premise.

Credits: John Dieterich (music), Víctor Leyton (video), Prelinger Archive (video), Internet Archive’s 35mm Stock Footage Collection, Fundación Mar Adentro